Museum of Memories

Do you remember that time we went to the Metropolitan Museum of Art?

You trailed me through the Greek statues as I gawked at my “ancestors.”

Making poses next to Artemis and Apollo, as if we were Gods ourselves.

We thought  we were… didn’t we?

That we had it all.

Feeling rich off of each other and nothing was going to tear us apart.

Such a fancy date for a 17 year old couple,

Still the most intoxicating birthday present I’ve ever received.

You wanted my gift to be a memory, not something tangible.

A memory that crosses my mind

More often than Zeus strikes his lightning bolt.

We created some of my most treasured experiences together,

But it’s all just history now,

Framed in the glass case of my very own

Museum of memories.

 

Leave a Reply

