False Epiphanies

My creative writing class teaches us about the art of different topics in writing. This week was all about epiphanies. Here is the fictional snippet I wrote during our 15 minutes of free writing class time. 


Then it hit me, Jack thought of me as more than a friend. His smooth talk and charismatic flirting, the way he sprinkled on the compliments as we were growing up. That blue eyed wink – oh – that baby blue eyed wink.

That evening after everyone had gone to bed, I snuck out of camp to find his tent. I knew exactly which one was his, the olive green with five gold stars on its fabric. Approaching his tent I became wary of the noises inside. There was laugher, female laughter. Jack was not alone.

I knew then that his infatuation with me was not real, but a tease of my own imagination. we had grown up together, of course I would have confused his charismatic personality with that of flirting. We were friends, and that is all we would ever be. I backed away slowly, keeping my head up high and my breathing low as I disappeared behind the trees.

4 thoughts on “False Epiphanies

  1. It is young passions and possibilities, then you grow and experience True, True Love of the greatest kind. We seek it you know, it is with in us to do so.. So life has much to give but it also sometimes must move on to another and let us live, laugh, love and pray for happiness each and everyday. Each and every day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

