Journal Entry #18

~First Timer~

I’m going to make this post short and sweet. This afternoon I received my very first manicure and pedicure. Yes, you read that correctly. I am 20 years old and today I decided, “What the heck?”

So I went with one of my girls to get it done. Honestly, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I loved the massages and dipping my feet in the nice warm water. However, I didn’t like it when the lady washed my feet. I suppose it made me feel uncomfortable to have someone serving me at such a degrading level. I’m sure it’s not like that for them. But maybe it is. I’m not sure, I just wasn’t use to it.

I’m glad everything came out flawless, it was such a relaxing experience over all. Where has this been all my life? So now i’m all ready for my friends graduation party this Saturday, light pink nails and all.

5 thoughts on “Journal Entry #18

  1. The first time I got mani/pedi was the day before my wedding. It was a lot of fun to be pampered. I remember when they started washing my feet and my thought was that they must be very humble to do that every day.

    Like

  2. I always wondered about this myself. I am 39 and have never had anyone tend to my feet or hands. I could never do it for someone else I don’t think. But go and try a manicure and pedicure? Maybe. I have had one professional massage and was able to handle that, so maybe…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Angela,
    Often in the maintenance of independence we lose the value found in humility. The service rendered you in this instance can be seen not as demeaning but laudable. For no act that results in some greater good is beneath one. And the recipient of that good is no more rewarded than the deliverer. For any who harbor the correct disposition are exalted.
    -Alan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

