Scraps – The Awkward Glitch

And this is the moment I realize there is a serious glitch in my choice of career.

I can score all the A’s I want in my college courses, but that will never retract the social awkwardness I have when saying hi to a fellow teacher walking down the hall.

“Hi how are you?” Mrs. Lazarus greets me politely.

“Good I am.” I stutter back.

Perhaps I’m coming down with a case of the Yoda’s. Whatever the issue, this only inflates my desire to become a professional writer. In the solitude of my own four walls, I never have to greet my pen before using it.

3 thoughts on “Scraps – The Awkward Glitch

  1. What you say is true and realistic. Here’s my viewpoint: 1 I noticed your flair, or style there in that short piece 2 think carefully – if you go for full-time writer your health will suffer. You radiate beauty and creativity, depth, in your picture. Writing full-time takes a serious toll on health. It does. In so many ways. I think it combines well with other careers. My words are heartfelt only.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chris says:

    Social Glitch?

    I’d hardly call that a social glitch and certainly not reflective of your career choice. Besides novelists have to do something while they are writing. John Grisham spent his days as a lawyer and Stephen King washed dirty diapers while they were first writing. At least, you and Stephen King chose careers that would do some good.

    Seriously, I have to say that you time with my students has been enjoyable and rewarding. They very much look forward to working with you. As for feelings of social awkwardness, don’t forget that you and your fellow students are visiting a unique workplace. Our staff is very comfortable with each other, especially if you consider that many of us have worked in the school for more than 15 years. Hopefully, you are feeling welcomed and valued. That’s our real goal!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sometimes I get hit with a case of ‘the socially awkwards.’ I’ve learned to use it as an icebreaker or a way to make the other person laugh. Like if I stutter something out, I’ll smile and say something like, “Wow. Could I have messed that up any worse?” And if I mess that up, I’ll say, “And that too?”

    In other words, I laugh at myself. Usually, the other person laughs with me and it becomes a nice way to connect with the person (laughter helps to relax the both of us). So rather than running from a bit of embarrassment, I turn it into a show of confidence.

    Own your awkwardness. There’s nothing wrong with it. Human you are, after all. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

