Journal #16

~20th Birthday~

11081256_10206440554882944_1071394409417877614_nMy friends from home came up on Friday to spend the weekend and I’m more than grateful for the time we spent together. Three of my girls, one of their boyfriends, and my own dashing prince. Defne, Keila, and Dani are my rock. These three ladies have celebrated with me at my best and cared for me at my worst. I’m so lucky to have laughed, sung, danced and partied with my girls for three whole days. Not to mention spent time with Mark, my amazing partner in crime.11179942_10206440555242953_2557060601514839265_n

Day one was excellent. I surprised them by making “tiropites” (My Greek cheese filled pastries) which were easily devoured. We rock climbed, went out for hibachi dinner and drank every last bit of alcohol I had saved. At midnight, we celebrated with a shot of birthday cake vodka.

Saturday was my actual birthday. I made everyone pancakes before we set out for the mall and later spent time outside playing volleyball. Mark, being the absolute sweetheart that he is, told me that in addition to the birthday presents he already bought me I could get myself anything under $100. From morning till dawn he wished me a happy birthday and told me he loved me. In all honesty, I don’t think I deserve someone as wonderful as he is.

I got two Victoria’s Secret bras by the way, no regrets. Screen Shot 2015-04-26 at 9.39.08 PM

At night we went to my favorite restaurant in Poughkeepsie. Shadows is right on the Hudson River overlooking the Mid Hudson bridge. The food is pretty snazzy too. My favorite appetizer, spicy buffalo calamari. My friends even had the waiter bring me a beautiful little brownie cake with ice-cream and a perfect little cherry on top. One that Defne so kindly snuck into her stomach.

This morning I woke up next to Mark smiling as I wiped my cheek on his shoulder and made uncomfortably grungy, slightly hung over sound effects. I’m such a charmer. But in all honesty I hate to see him visit for such a short time and then leave. I know it’s only three weeks till I see him again. I just cant help but miss him.

11178330_10206440437079999_4109938910508977688_nBefore he left he gave me an Alex and Ani bracelet with a Taurus charm. Fitting for my birthday, I absolutely loved it. It also made saying goodbye incredibly more difficult.

I am starting a new chapter of my life. I am no longer a teenager, but a young adult living it up in her twenties. I have great friends, a handsome man by my side, a bright future and a lot of love. I always wish for the same thing every year when I blow out the candles. I wont tell you exactly what it is, but it’s something along the lines of what I already have.

5 thoughts on “Journal #16

Leave a Reply

