Scraps – My Fault, Apparently.

I think everything Is my fault when it probably isn’t. Most stuff, at least.

This morning I woke up early to attend field work. Jess, my carpool, never texted me to come to the parking lot when she was outside (per usual). I thought, maybe she over slept? I texted her about ten minutes later asking where she was. She responded quite nastily, by blaming it on me.

She broke two phones in the past week and didn’t have my number. She waited for me outside for 5 minutes just incase I thought to come out. I should have “touched base with her” because we haven’t had field work in a few weeks.

I franticly apologized, because that’s the kind of person I am. I don’t think twice about taking the blame, I just hate when things get ugly.

I probably should have told her to f*** off and touch base with ME if SHE’S the one who didn’t have my number. Because how was I suppose to know that? We had class yesterday or she could have sent me a Facebook message.

Either way, I need to stop blaming myself for these kind of things and start standing up for myself. Not everything is my fault.

7 thoughts on “Scraps – My Fault, Apparently.

  1. I’m the same way. I’ll totally take the blame for something going wrong just to avoid the risk of possibly getting into a fight with someone. You know, like the scene in the movie Apollo 13 in which Tom Hanks says something like, “We’re not going to go bouncing off the walls for ten minutes just to end up right back where we started with the same problems.” To me, it’s not worth it. So when blame falls on me, even when there was no fault with anything I did, I ask myself if getting embroiled in conflict is worth the consequences. Or is it simply better to diffuse the situation and move on?

    That said, I don’t think you need to be frantically apologetic. You can simply say, “I’m sorry,” and be done with it. Not escalating the situation, I believe, is the right thing to do, especially in a situation such as the one you described. I don’t feel like it would’ve been worth the headache of fighting with someone. In short, I think you did the right thing.

    With that said, yes, there are times when you should absolutely stand up for yourself. Just remember to choose your battles wisely. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For some of us, maintaining relationship is paramount. Our challenge is to call out the fault in others while doing our best to maintain the relationship. Note: “best”. We mustn’t lose ourselves in this process.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ugh.! I’m so sorry you had a frustrating day! I hope you don’t blame yourself for everything. You’re right, not everything is your fault.! Hope you have a good day tomorrow 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

