Journal Entry #10

#FallonTonight

I love the tonight show. Jimmy Fallon has taken over late night this past year, making trips to the city all the more exciting. My friends and I have been a part of his studio audience twice now since December. We have also been to Seth Meyers twice before that. Rockefeller Center feels like a home away from home, in a way.

IMG_2502

Mit Romney was the first guest. Surprisingly, he wasn’t as boring as I expected him to be. they did a funny sketch where Mit was talking to himself in the mirror, worrying himself over the interview. They also threw a few cracks at his loosing the 2008 election, which I personally found hysterical.

Grace Helbig was there too. While I’m not a ginormous fan, my roommate is. She even got a wink from her as Grace exited the stage. I love it.

Jimmy killed it as always, his monologues slay me. The roots were talented as ever. Speaking of the roots, I have Quest Love’s drum sticks. Yup. The producer handed one to Em, Nols and I. If you look close enough, you can see his little afro on the handle!

IMG_7336-2

It all ended when 50 Cent came out with his band, G Unit. My favorite line, “I do what the F*** I want to. I’m grown. I got my own couch.” Same 50, same.

I can’t help but dream of being a guest on that show. Promoting my book or even the movie version of my book. I dream big, but sometimes you have to. It doesn’t hurt that we know Seth Herzog, Jimmy’s opening comedian. He spent a good ten minutes talking to just us, and yes, we felt extremely special.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 12.01.34 AM

So here I am, sitting in front of my television watching the Tonight Show. I should really get back to it now, I’m waiting to see if we’re going to be featured on screen at all.

Wish us luck!

IMG_0500  Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 12.01.21 AM

9 thoughts on “Journal Entry #10

  1. Fallon is the best of the late night talkers. I’ll check noteworthy clips the day after. I have trouble watching the interview with the celebrities that are just there to self-promote. I guess I’m spoiled by the intimacy of podcasts these days.

    Good luck with the writing. I’m still holding onto the dream of writing a book that sells well enough that I can quit the old day job. Unfortunately/fortunately it will have to be a heck of a book to replace my current salary and benefits. Blah.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If my debut novel- or any of my future novels for that matter- were ever to get the wide recognition that they deserve, I hope to wind up as a guest of Jimmy Fallon myself. Out of all the night time talk show hosts out there, he’s my favorite and here’s why: He ‘s a good listener, he’s a good communicator, and he’s naturally funny. I love the fact that he was selected to take over “The Tonight Show,” and so far he’s been doing a really good job at it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

