Journal Entry #5

~The Optimistic College Student~

It is strange, how cheerful I have suddenly become.

I am on top of my life. I feel empowered. Young enough to take on the world and strong enough to make it happen. There is not a force in my life that could tip me over.

I feel as though every three or four years my mind undergoes a sudden peak in maturity, but it is not subtle. It happens over night, and I feel ten years older before breakfast. Nothing in my life has changed. Everything is perfectly normal. It is my heart, my mind and my perspectives that have grown.

I am currently killing the game of school. My grades are a work of art. I love my family. My friends are perfect. They love me for who I am and support me in everything I do.

I also have a wonderful man in my life. I don’t talk about him much, but I should. He’s by my side for everything. He appreciates me more than I deserve and makes me smile at every spoken word, and a few unspoken words as well. It has been over three years and he is still my best friend.

I pray that time will stop, if only for a bit. Just so that I can take in all the wonderful details of my life. Sometimes I become upset, but only because I know that these details will fade over time. I worry about the future too much, when I have everything I could ever dream of in front of me.

The only thing that has changed about my perspective is to live in the present. It sounds silly, but for so long I have been worrying about what comes next. I am in a good place right now. I want to bask in its light … for however long God and the universe intended.

2 thoughts on “Journal Entry #5

Leave a Reply

