My First Poem

~If Life Were a Lemon. 2006~

In an earlier post, I believe it was “The Year of The Writer,” I mentioned the first time I realized that I wanted to write. It was the first day of 6th grade, and Mrs. Weisberg wanted to see where we were with our writing skills. I wasn’t a very good student at the time and never did much creative writing in earlier grades. To be honest, I was very excited. I wanted to start the year off right, and this poem became my eleven year old pride and joy. 

If life were a lemon, I’d be the juice

I’m sour but sweet, a true lemon indeed

I’m not very yellow, as you can see

But If you think about it, we’re all just like lemon’s

Both you, and me

13 thoughts on “My First Poem

  1. JMD398 says:

    A prodigy at 11. Im jealous I don’t think I have work like this at such a young age. I believe I was in HS when I first figured out that this could be a possibility. It was while I was in the NAVY that I decided this is what I wanted to do. Become a great writer. Still got a lot of road to travel to accomplish this feat. But your poem is inspiring and true!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Matthew James says:

    It is rare to experience a first poem. This is a wonderful first poem. It says more than a 11 year old should know 🙂 The grand wisdom in recognizing that we are all sour and sweet, at least most of us. That is what makes us so beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

