Journal Entry #2

~The Inspiration that wasn’t meant to be~

I feel like college becomes more difficult at the most inconvenient times.

This morning I sparked an excellent idea. I had everything planned. I jot down a few notes, tucked them into my writing folder and waited until class was up. The problem was, and there is always a problem, by the time class was over my newly found inspiration had escaped me. I was tired after three hours of lecture, my brain had gone soft. Any hope of writing had vanished. My only true desire was to throw down my books and take a late afternoon nap.

“This will never work,” I thought to myself, face down breathing into my pillow. “Writing takes time… and you don’t have any.”

Time has has been one of my biggest struggles this semester. I’m two weeks in and have more chapters to read than chapters written. I am aware that I have mentioned this in earlier rants, however, todays loss of inspiration has me in a cranky mood. I’m always hoping that tomorrow will be better, and since tomorrow is Saturday I am betting that it will be.

On a side note, I just got back from Applebee’s where my friends and I devoured half priced apps. It was euphoria in a basket of hot boneless buffalo wings.

12 thoughts on “Journal Entry #2

  1. I was well know for not actually taking lecture note in university. I think it bothered a few people that I still got great marks. I dare you to just write one day; right there in class. 😉 You know you want to (whispers of the devil)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know exactly what you mean. I too have ideas floating around in my head but finding time to actually turn them into anything is another matter. Keep doing what you’re doing though and if you think about it, at least you are having good ideas in the first place so that is half the battle. The other half is making time to weave them into something great. Keep going!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Although College is a time when it feels that sleep is optional, it really isn’t; especially when you need to let your brain rest.

    Reading and writing often is key to developing good writing habits. But so is sleep…in general.

    On a side note: story-boarding, even with scribbles on a napkin, is another great way to inspire you to write.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The writing tends to come at the right time, if you cant seem to make time then it isnt ready yet…
    I know this sounds too romantic but this is how it is. One thinks that one can control and dictate writing but the truth is otherwise.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

