Snippet #2

I wipe my lip and pat my face dry. My hair is loose and damp. I try to cover it up by lifting my hood, but my shirt is wet and my zippers jammed.

“Gemma where are you?” I hear my father’s voice behind the bushes. He peers over and sees me sprinting. My hood is up and my shirt is covered. “I want to show you something.”

I relax. He doesn’t know. “What is it?”

He dusts a large, golden rock with sharp edges and turns to me for approval. “Do you know what this is?”

The rock is awfully bright. It shines like summer on a cold winters day. “It’s beautiful.”

He holds it up so I can see it better. “This is Charge in its natural state.” My father seems proud. He looks around to make sure no one is watching.

I huddle closer to him to block the glare. “It doesn’t look like Charge.”

“This is Nolanite, the element Charge is made from.” He points to my wrist where a measly seven percent glows yellow. “They liquefy it before injecting it into our bodies. This is our life supply, without Charge we can’t survive.”

I check my wrist and watch as the number seven drops to six. I swallow hard. “I could use some Charge right now.”

My father checks his own wrist. He has only four percent left; if it drops to zero we’re done.

We have to get out of here.


Hello again! This is of course a follow up to my Snippet #1. To clarify, “Charge” is everything these self-evolved humans need to survive. Food and water have become obsolete. I really don’t want to give much away other than state the obvious, so therefore I’ll leave the rest for you to ponder. I’d be happy to answer any questions and feed back is appreciated!

4 thoughts on “Snippet #2

Leave a Reply

